Talk Like Yoda, You Do, Hmmmmmm?

Jedi Master Yoda

Jedi Master Yoda

Searching for some Star Wars stuff for my son (who’s crazy about the franchise), I came across “Talk Like Yoda Day”, which was May 21. TALK LIKE YODA DAY!?!?! How did I miss this? My favorite character from Star Wars has his own language day and I missed it? Well, it’s not that big of a deal, but you get the point!

Talk Like Yoda Day, May 21, coincides with the anniversary of the release of Star Wars Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back where we get our first view of the powerful Jedi Master. I have to say, my favorite scene with Yoda is by far him rooting through Luke’s backpack and chucking stuff out. Cinematic genius! 😉

So you want to find your inner Yoda? Here’s some tips:

1. Rearrange the order of clauses in a sentence.
2. Put “hmmmmmmm” at the end of a sentence.
3. Add “Yes” at the end of a question.
4. For sound, form your voice at the back of your throat to give it a throaty, gargling tone.

And now, some fun Yoda-sims:
“My home, this is”
“Reckless is he”
“Hear you nothing that I say”
“No! Try not. Do, or do not. There is no try”
“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering”

Have fun, and may the force be with you! (omg so cheesy, but I had to do it!!)

2 thoughts on “Talk Like Yoda, You Do, Hmmmmmm?

  1. Pingback: Starburst Memories: Brosnan Strikes Back! | The Dirk Malcolm Alternative

Leave a Reply

